top of page

2020 Awardees

The Annual Chronic Disease Prevention Symposium honors the individuals and programs who have contributed to the efforts in South Carolina to improve health outcomes in communities in which they serve through their outstanding work. 



The 2020 Award Recipients are:


  • Certified Diabetes Educator of the Year Award - Makala Smith, MS, RD, LD, CDE

  • Diabetes Champion of the Year Award  - the late Elizabeth Todd-Heckel, MSW, CDE

  • National Diabetes Prevention Program Lifestyle Change Coach of the Year Award - Donna Avant

  • National Diabetes Prevention Program (National DPP) of the Year Award - Prisma Health

  • Medical Dental Integration Champion Award - Scott Garris, DMD

  • Medication Therapy Management of the Year Award - Morgan Adams Rhodes

bottom of page